Don’t Be Jealous, but we Potty Trained in 3 Days!

Standard

Yes, you read that correctly. Baby Girl was potty trained in 3 days…

This is both #1 and #2.

A couple weeks ago one of my brother’s baby mama’s (he has 4, he could be on Jerry Springer) was talking about how they had potty trained their 18 month old.  She said something to the effect that they were in a restaurant in panties and I almost said “Bite Me” to her. Don’t worry I held my tongue.

But I thought then and there that I had to stop being lazy and start focusing on Potty Training. We had tried back in April when she had turned 2 and it had worked briefly but either because we slacked off or she wasn’t ready we digressed and stopped trying after just a few days.

This time around I knew we were going to keep on until it was complete.  She is almost 2 ½ and I am seriously tired of spending so much money on diapers. So last Thursday we began…. Out of diapers and into panties. Peeing on the potty came very easily. It seemed like she was just waiting on us to push the point. By Saturday we had no pee pee accidents and still have not yet.

I always heard that #2 could take a long time. I was prepared for it. I was hoping she would cry for a diaper or something so that I would know she had to do #2. The first day she just pooped in the panties twice. By the second time she didn’t like it very much. Day #2 and she pooped in the panties again that morning but then no more all day, not in the panties, not in the potty. She had decided that she didn’t want to do it in her panties, she didn’t want to do it in a diaper and she really didn’t want to do it in the toilet. So we were on our way to constipating ourselves.

As day 3 rolled around we still had no poop and the end of the day was fast approaching. I thought I would try something. My child is goal oriented. For pee peeing on the potty she could have either a sticker or a quarter for college and she picked quarter for college many times. So I thought to get her to do #2 I needed a bigger prize. So I found some small presents and wrapped them and put them on the back of the toilet seat. We told her that when she pooped she could pick a present and open it. 

I won’t say it was easy because the fear and panic she went through to get out that first poop was very traumatic for her. But it was all worthwhile when she got to pick and open a present at the end of day 3.

Day 4 and 5 were just about as traumatic as day 3 but there were no accidents.

It is just one week later and using the potty is second nature.
I am so very proud of my little girl!

About Shelly Tennyson Taylor

Who am I? I am a first time mom to an amazingly smart 6yr old. I am wife to my best friend of 24 years. I am 40ish going on 29.. ;) I am a writer... I finished my first novel in 2013 and I am currently seeking publication. I work for "the man" but he pays me well to work from home so I can't complain. My blog is simply about life and all aspects of it. I hope you will join me on this journey! https://oldmomsunite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

