Irrational Fears!

Standard

I don’t know about you but every time I get one of those Children’s Life Insurance letters in the mail it feels like a brick landed in my stomach.
I know we are supposed to be prepared and make smart decisions but I can’t bring myself to open the envelope. If something happened to my sweet baby girl I wouldn’t need life insurance I would need an institution.

I mean I still cut her sandwiches up in little pieces….Now give me some credit I did try to give her larger pieces a few times that she could pick up and bite off but she likes the smaller bite size pieces better. I do nick her blueberries before I give them to her and she still hasn’t had a raisin or a peanut. I know she has teeth but choking freaks me out!

And as of yet she has not slept away from home once or rode in a car driven by anyone else but hubby and myself. I know she is going to have to do these things one day but I get fearful just thinking about them.

I guess because we tried so long to have a child and finally she is here. I want to protect her with every ounce of my being. I love my husband we have been married for 20 years and I would be beyond devastated if something happened to him. But my child who came from my body I would be completely and utterly lost.

I know the day is going to come when she eats a whole blueberry without me nicking it first but until then I just want to hold her close and keep her safe!

About Shelly Tennyson Taylor

Who am I? I am a first time mom to an amazingly smart 6yr old. I am wife to my best friend of 24 years. I am 40ish going on 29.. ;) I am a writer... I finished my first novel in 2013 and I am currently seeking publication. I work for "the man" but he pays me well to work from home so I can't complain. My blog is simply about life and all aspects of it. I hope you will join me on this journey! https://oldmomsunite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

