My Bucket List

Standard

It seems like everyone these days is creating a bucket list. A bucket list is a list of things you want to do before you die. It is like a roadmap to help you make the absolute most of your life so you can enjoy and live it to the fullest.

I have always loved the quote by Erma Bombeck, “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me’.” Creating and actually marking things off my bucket list will let me ensure this is true for me when the end of my life comes.

So I guess it is time for me to create my list. I definitely think this will be an ever changing and growing list. With things like they are this year with mom, I doubt I will be able to mark  many (if any) things off my list, but who knows. The first step is getting some things down on paper.

  1. See the Kangaroo’s in Australia
  2. See the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights)
  3. Watch my daughter walk down the Aisle on her wedding day (She is only 2 right now)
  4. Ride a Zip line
  5. Go on a Safari in South Africa
  6. Stay in a hut on the water in Bora Bora
  7. Publish a Novel
  8. Make A million Dollars
  9. Take an RV Trip across the Country
  10. Take a Transcontinental Cruise
  11. Walk in the 3 Day Breast Cancer Awareness walk
  12. Get over my fear of flying, (this is going to be necessary in order to mark many of these things off)
  13. Go Snorkeling in the Belize Barrier Reef
  14. Go Snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef
  15. Learn to Scuba Dive
  16. Finish my degree
  17. Be a grandmother
  18. Go Ghost Hunting with TAPS
  19. Go on The Amazing Race
  20. Own a horse
  21. De-clutter this house
  22. Raise a Happy, Well Rounded, Healthy Daughter
  23. Build our Dream house
  24. Buy a Vacation home in Myrtle Beach
  25. Be completely debt free.

So there is a start to my list. I am sure there will be much more to add as I begin thinking on it more but this is a pretty good start. There may even be a few on the list I can start to tackle now.

Everyone should have a road map of things they want to do and enjoy in this life. So make your own bucket list and get started crossing things off!

10 responses »

    • Thanks Lee! That is the key right to not just write them down but to make sure you put a plan into action to make them happen!

  1. Hey Sweetheart, I hope ;you achieve everyone of the items on your bucket list. Knowing you I am sure you will. Looking at your list I was just thinking you and Trevor are so much alike in the adventure department. He and Amanda have accomplished Snorkeling in the Belize Barrier Reef and going into the Blue Hole. You guys can have all that adventure and just tell me about it I am a big chicken. I love you very much and am enjoying ready your blog again. You are an amazing woman. Love you Aunt Charlotte

    • Charlotte, Oh Trevor is much more adventure driven than I am. He inspires me! Oh, I am going to have to add the Blue Hole to my list for sure! Love you bunches!

  2. I love your list! I started one as well recently which I’ve copied over to my blog site so people can share any ideas with me. Something about putting things on a list has helped me start making them happen. I don’t know where you are based, but an amazing place to go zip-line is just south of San Francisco with Mount Hermon (they are a Christian camp, though that doesn’t play into the tour at all) You get really great instruction, they take their time making you comfortable and you get to go on LOTS of different zip-lines from redwood to redwood tree. Absolutely amazing place to do it! Great luck with your list!

    • Thanks. That sounds like fun. I am in Georgia so a bit of a trek for me…but I do need to put on my list visit California! I hope to do the zip line the next time we go on a cruise!

  3. Pingback: The Opposite of a Bucket List! « Life Happens

  4. Pingback: Attacking my Bucket List | Life Happens

Leave a Reply

