Just a Reminder, It is a Free Country!

Standard

With all that is going on in the media right now about the whole Chick-Fil-A issue I think we should take a moment and remember that no matter what your beliefs, on July 4th, 1776 our country became a FREE country.  This means we have the right to worship as we like, we are allowed different opinions, we don’t have to dress alike, act alike, or believe alike.

Part of what makes this country great is that we have these freedoms. This is not communist Russia or any other country where you are belittled because of your religious beliefs. Well, at least I didn’t think we were.

Freedom of Speech – guess what, I can write down what I feel right here on my blog and if you don’t like it all you can do is move on and quit reading. It is my right to voice my opinion. To say what I want to say. No one is my censor.

Freedom of the Press – That applies here too, because I am basically publishing this. But it is my right.

Freedom of Religion – Here we go….. We all have the right to believe as we wish. We are a nation of Baptists, Catholics, Jewish, Atheist, etc… The point is we can believe like we wish without facing persecution. At least we are supposed to be able to. When Mr. Cathy of Chick-Fil-A shared his opinion on the traditional family, he had every right to do so. Whether you agree or disagree with him he had the right to state his beliefs because we live in a country that has….FREEDOM OF RELIGION AND FREEDOM OF SPEECH!

Freedom of Assembly – This is what occurred yesterday. We as a nation had the freedom to do what we wanted and many people “assembled” at Chick-Fil-A to show their support. That is our right. Also, it is being said that tomorrow the gay and lesbian community is going to Chick-Fil-A for a Kiss in. That is their right!

Did I go to Chick-Fil-A yesterday? No. And not because I do or don’t support Mr. Cathy it was simply because I am on a budget and eating out on the weekdays is not in that budget.  And that my friend is my right!

Leave a Reply

