To Blog or Not to Blog

Standard

Well, I have been doing a lot of reading on writing and getting published the last few days and the consensus seems to be that if you are a new writer, or even an experienced one but have not yet made it to the realm of Nicholas Sparks, Nora Roberts or Stephen King, then you need to also be a blogger.

Really, I like to blog, but some days I would just like to do work on my writing and not have to turn my mind in a new direction and blog. But if that is what has to be done to work my way towards a publishing deal, then fine. I will blog.

Blog, blog, blog.

But seriously, this new trend for aspiring authors is interesting. It really is about social media. If I have a ton of blog followers then maybe those people will buy my book when it is published. Not necessarily the case but it is what a publisher dreams of happening. Blogging, Facebook, and Twitter are all social media outlets that the up and coming aspiring writer needs to have their hands into.

I don’t even think it matters what I blog about and that is good news. Some days I might post about my writing, others I might post about my toddler and as I have done in the past you might get a yummy recipe from me.

So here is to working my way towards a publishing deal and for blogging my brains out!

Leave a Reply

