That Perfect Moment of Writing Bliss

Standard

Wow, so today I got some good writing in.

Baby girl and I went to church this morning. Hubby was feeling sick so he stayed home.

When we got back from church it was early and baby girl wasn’t ready for lunch so I gave her a graham cracker and some juice and let her play in her room.

I made a cup of coffee and went to my office and while she played I typed, and I typed and I typed. Hubby came in on the occasion to check on me and when I was done having my best writing session I have had in years, I looked up at the clock and it said 4:45pm.

Um, I did not feed my child lunch! Are you kidding me! I was so shocked that I had typed right through lunch and well into the afternoon. Baby girl’s room is right beside me and I could hear her playing all the time but she never once said.

Oh hey mom, think you want to give me some food anytime soon?

I got sucked way too far into my story tonight. I was embarrassed, how could I have completely forgotten to feed my child?

There is something about the power of writing. Something about that moment when everything lines up and the words are flying out of your brain faster than your speedy fingers can type them on the screen.

That is where I was today for a few hours. It was awesome and horrible at the same time!

About Shelly Tennyson Taylor

Who am I? I am a first time mom to an amazingly smart 6yr old. I am wife to my best friend of 24 years. I am 40ish going on 29.. ;) I am a writer... I finished my first novel in 2013 and I am currently seeking publication. I work for "the man" but he pays me well to work from home so I can't complain. My blog is simply about life and all aspects of it. I hope you will join me on this journey! https://oldmomsunite.wordpress.com/

2 responses »

  1. I can appreciate how you can lose yourself and your sense of time as you write. I have entered a particularly creative period in my life as I complete a trilogy of short stories and, in order to see that I eat regularly, get enough sleep, take my medicine, and go on walks for breaks, I have moved in with my father and sister instead of living alone.

    You don’t have the luxury of others caring for you, as you have to take care of others. In the meantime, be careful. Enjoy your creative work, but don’t let it get the best of you.

    • Yes, it is true sometimes the creative mind can take over and we forget to take care of ourselves. I said that I didn’t feed baby girl but I didn’t feed me either! So point well taken! Good luck on your stories I will have to check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

