Hardcore Mommy

Standard

So last night began my adventure in Hardcore Mommy!

Let me bring you up to date…
My dear 3 year old daughter has a set type of food she will eat. Such as… Pancakes, Eggs, Waffles, Oatmeal, Yogurt, cheese, black olives, pickles, Any fruit that was ever grown, sliced carrots (this is important), corn, macaroni and cheese, peanut butter, jelly, bread and sometimes but very rarely I can get her to eat fish sticks or chicken nuggets.

Now just looking over this list it may look like she eats pretty good, but as you start to really dig deeper you can see where the issues fall.
First off the carrots, she will eat sliced carrots, but I gave her some baby carrots a few days ago on her plate and she would not EVEN TOUCH them because they looked DIFFERENT.

In her vegetable eating there is a clear lacking of green vegetables. I can make green beans or peas and she may eat 2 or 3 at the most. Leafy vegetables are just not even going to be tried! I will say that she THINKS she likes celery because this is one of the few items that she will pick up over and over and take a bite of then spit it out. Not sure what she wants it to taste like but something about it makes her think it’s yummy every time she sees it!

Another big issue is that she won’t eat meat! Like I said I can occasionally get her to eat a piece of fried fish or nugget but baked chicken, fish, pork, steak, and everything like that she will not even taste. Who knows she may actually like something but she won’t put a darn bite in her mouth to even find out.

She won’t try Pizza. Seriously what kind of kid on the face of this earth will not even try a bite of pizza?

So here is where hardcore mommy comes in.

She is 3 years old. She is smart and talented and she is old enough to reason with. So here it goes.

On most nights I am a short order cook. I make dinner for me and my husband and then I make my daughter something I know she will eat, usually macaroni and cheese and some fruit or veggie she will eat.

The plate of food that is going to break one of us.

The plate of food that is going to break one of us.

Last night I made cheeseburger casserole for dinner. She would not even try it. Not even put one noodle with cheese on it in her mouth. So she went to bed without dinner. But here is where the really hard part comes in. When she asks for breakfast this morning it is going to be cheeseburger casserole and if she won’t try it for breakfast then she will get another chance at lunch.

I told her earlier that she was going to have cheeseburger casserole for breakfast and she said. “I don’t want it. I want to be hungry all day long!” If  she is smart enough to talk to me in adult sentences, she is smart enough to try at least try a bite of the food I make for dinner.

If she would just try it I would be fine. If she tries something and truly does not like it then I have no problem giving her something to eat that she will like. I just get so frustrated that she won’t even try something. Things I know she would like if she would just try them.

So today I am not sure who is going to break first, her or me. But we will find out.

Have any of you guys had to go through this “Picky eater” stage? If so how did you change it?

6 responses »

  1. My kid usually doesn’t like too many new things when I put them on her plate. But she always wants to eat whatever Mom and Dad are eating. So I’ll put the kid friendly version on my plate and give her bites off of that. After she’s had it a few times (with success) then I’ll start giving her it on her own plate. We’ve also had lots of success with the cook book Weelicious.

    • Yeah, she won’t try anything on my plate. I ask her all the time if she wants a bit and she says “no thank you”. At least she is polite!

  2. YES picky eaters here! My almost 2-year old is worse than my 4-year old. But my approach is totally the opposite of your hardcore one. I’ve been totally laid back and always say, “The food is on your plate, it’s up to you to try what you want.” This approach isn’t working. At all. Like, not even a little bit. You’ll have to keep us posted on how Hardcore Mommy goes for you!

    • Yeah that has been the approach I have been taking so far too and it hasn’t gotten me anywhere! I figured she is 3 she can be reasoned with.

      I will call today a draw because I didn’t give in and she didn’t eat any of the food! I did make sure I made a dinner for all 3 of us tonight that I knew she would like. I mean I need her to eat! But after this weekend is done we are going Hardcore again!

  3. Pingback: Hardcore Mommy Fail!! | Life Happens

Leave a Reply

