The Writing Process: Part 1

Standard

I recently had a blogger ask me to write about my experience writing and how I felt during the writing process. I thought that sounded like a pretty good idea but first I think you need a little bit of back story so here goes.

I had put writing on the back burner in my life. When I was younger sure I could waste away hours writing and it was ok but as an adult it was hard to find those hours to waste away. There was so much to do. Go to work. Clean the house. Spend time with the husband. And the million other excuses I had to keep from making writing a priority.

Then in 2009 my dad got sick and he and my mom moved in to my living room permanently. Mom was diagnosed with Cancer and I got pregnant via In-Vitro. It was a busy year and writing never crossed my mind.  

Dad died in October of 2009. My baby girl was born in April 2010. Mom’s Cancer went into remission. 2010 and 2011 were good years. Mom’s Cancer was in remission. We were raising a tiny human being and writing never crossed my mind.

We began planning for a cruise in January of 2012 to take my mom. The day before we were going to drive down to get on the boat my mom fell and broke her hip. She would not be going on a cruise anytime soon.

While in the hospital on Therapy they found that her Cancer had come back. She had already had too much radiation and chemo so this time was it. They gave us 6 months. We got 7. Mom died in September of 2012.

2012 was a rough year and writing never crossed my mind.

In the early weeks of January of 2013 my preacher preached a sermon on our God given talents. He told us that God gave each everyone of us something that made us unique. A talent of our very own, I began to feel a tug and I thought about writing again for the first time in years. Part of me rejected the idea right then and there. See Mom had been one of my biggest supporters in writing and doing it after she passed just didn’t seem fair to her.

But I kept getting the pull and this title for a story that I had in my head for years began to resurface. I would be washing the dishes and pop the title would be there in my mind.

I didn’t know what the story was about. All I knew was the title. Mid January I decided I would try. To honor my mother and to use what I believe are my God given talents and write. So I sat down with a plan to write something every day.

What I had learned over the last 4 years is that life really is short. We are not guaranteed a time frame. Writing was not going to sit around for one day when I had the time. If I wanted to write I had to make the time. So I did.

That last week in January I pounded out 6,000 words to a story that previously I just had a title simmering around in my head. It was at that moment that I felt whole again. I knew I was doing what I was supposed to be doing by writing. Good, bad or ugly I was writing again.

To be continued……….

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Writing Process: Part 2 – The Conclusion | Life Happens

Leave a Reply

