15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 1

Standard

Okay so one of the bloggers I follow Glitter and Kerosene is doing this thing called a 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge and I thought it sounded fun so I am going to jump in and play as well!

Day 1: Make 15 book related confessions.

  1. I am a book hoarder. I have tons of books on my bookshelves, I have paperbacks stacked three rows deep on the shelves. If I could buy every book ever written I probably would.
  2. I have always secretly wanted to own a bookstore coffee house. I know they are going out of style these days with the ebook world but still it is my two favorite things in the world (besides my family of course) coffee & books.
  3. I read 3 books at a time normally, well not at the exact same time. But I usually am reading a fiction book, a non-fiction book, and an ebook of some sort on my Kindle.
  4. If a writer writes a series I will not, absolutely not, start anywhere except the beginning of the series.
  5. The only thing I ever stole in my life was a book. I was in the 5th grade and I stole Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein off my teachers desk. The next day she gave this heartfelt plea for her book and told the thief they wouldn’t be in trouble if they just returned it to her desk that afternoon. I did, and never stole anything again. Well, except my husbands heart. 🙂
  6. The cover of the book is going to decide if I read it or not in most cases. Especially if it by someone I haven’t ever read before. So you better put just as much thought into the cover as the story itself.
  7. My maiden name is Tennyson but I haven’t found any relation to Alfred Lord Tennyson.
  8. I think my parents destined me to be a writer when they named me Shelly Tennyson — I mean come on percy bysshe shelley & Alfred Lord Tennyson
  9. I don’t like poetry. Oh god, don’t throw tomatoes at me – I just really don’t like it, even though I have pages and pages of the stuff that I wrote as a teenager.
  10. I had a poem published (I know, sue me) in the National Library of Poetry book many years ago.
  11. My dad used to pay me money to read the encyclopedia. I would read and then he would question me and when I passed I got cash. I wish making money was that easy now as an adult.
  12. I absolutely love Janet Evanovich and the Stephanie Plum series. My absolute favorite books!
  13. I have a finished Novel that I am working on Editing now, I hope to have it published one day.
  14. I have about 4 other stories swirling around in my head that I want to get written on paper. Wait… do we write on paper anymore?
  15. And Finally, A handful of my other favorite authors are J.D. Robb, Iris Johansen, Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Harlan Coben, & Sandra Brown.

Thanks to Glitter and Kerosene

6 responses »

  1. Shelly Tennyson is the coolest name ever. I wish I had a literary name. And the book hoarding thing? Me too. The first piece of real furniture I intend to buy is a bookshelf.

    • Well if you are anything like me you are going to need multiple bookshelves. When I build my dream home it is going to have a library with floor to ceiling bookshelves!

      • Yeeeeeees. I already had a repurposed DVD rack, a shelf, the shelves in my closet, and my dresser. I’ll have no problem filling one. Or seven.

  2. Pingback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 4 | Life Happens

  3. Pingback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 8 | Life Happens

Leave a Reply

