Insecure Writer’s Support Group – September 2013

Standard

So I came across this website from Alex J. Cavanaugh called IWSG – If you haven’t heard of it, it is Insecure Writer’s Support Group. The first Wednesday of every month is officially IWSG day. A day for writers everywhere to be okay sharing the insecurities they are feeling about their writings. What a great idea! And so, I joined.

For me right now I am absolutely feeling insecure about my writing.
I have finished my first draft, second draft and working on a third draft of my novel. Still I am far away from the word count I need, I am only in the low 60K and since I am not writing a romance I need to have at least another 10K words. I have added new chapters and I am now adding a third characters viewpoint into the story, so I hope this will help me out.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Still as I go through the third draft I can’t help but begin to wonder is it really good enough?
Am I wasting my time?
Who do I think I am that I can write and publish a book? 
Am I too old?
To inexperienced?
To busy?
To lazy? ……Well, you get the picture…..

Sometimes I can look at the words on my page and go… “Wow, did I really write that? I am amazing!”
Sometimes I can look and go “Seriously, did I actually write that? What is wrong with me.”

I think (at least I hope) that all writers go through this process. Still, it is hard.

Plus, I have a ton of other ideas floating around my head and filling up note pages on my computer but I don’t think it is fair to the current story to cheat on it with another new young fresh story. So I keep plugging away hoping I will finally know when this one truly done and I can move on…..

Okay well I got all that out and survived…

6 responses »

  1. Welcome to IWSG! Yes, I can most certainly relate and your post echoes some of my previous IWSG posts with one exception: you’ve more or less completed an entire novel. That’s quite an accomplishment and you should remember that during times of doubt. Some of us are just aspiring writers with short stories, flash fiction or maybe just bits and pieces of a book written… but we all share some of the same worries. That’s what makes us writers. The part of your post that really hit home with me was the worry of “cheating” on your main project with other ideas. I recently struggled with this, too! What I did was write the short, which was a completely different genre, just to get it out of my head. Of course, what I can do with it, I have no clue… but it’s out and I find that I much better able to re-focus on my full book now. Best of luck to you… you’ve made it this far, just keep going! 🙂

    • Thanks T!
      Yes, I often forget that the act of finishing the novel at all is a huge accomplishment. Thanks for reminding me!
      Good luck to you!!!

  2. Hey there!
    I’m new to IWSG as well. As you know I’m in the same boat. I highly recommend reading Anne Lamott’s ‘Bird By Bird. It’s a beautifully written book on writing and life with a chapter titled ‘How Do You Know When You’re Done?”. She has a point. You can edit yourself into oblivion if you’re not careful. When you’re book is blessedly free of grammatical errors and you’re simply editing for content over and over sometimes it’s best to move on. Easier said then done! Ha ha!

    • Adrienne,

      Thank you. I have heard that book mentioned before. I think I will have to go out and get me a copy!

      And yes, easier said than done! 🙂

  3. Honestly, I had a similar problem with one of my mss, until I got my hands on Donald Maass’ Breakout Novel. What a great help the workbook was. Changed everything. In fact, it got me through the dreaded middle of the story.

    I’m late and I’m blaming it on my computer.

    Happy IWSG.

Leave a Reply

