Mom’s Chicken and Dumplings

Standard

Chicken and Dumplings are one of those things that my mom was a master at creating.
So much that, I never bothered to find out exactly how she did it. Now, granted, I spent lots of time as a teenager growing up and helping her make them but I never really PAID ATTENTION.
My job…. drop the biscuits into the bowl and watch the dumplings arise….

Fast forward to now, mom is gone to that white kitchen in the sky and I want chicken and dumplings.
Lucky for me, my brother actually did pay a little attention and makes a pretty mean bowl of chicken and dumplings himself.
But, I wanted to do… So I gathered all my ingredients, took notes from my baby brother, and embarked on the task tonight.

It was funny, I could almost feel momma in the room with me as I pulled the chicken off the bone and filled the pot with drops of dumplings.
A few weeks ago, this would have caused a meltdown, but tonight, I just felt her close by and watching out for me.

Chicken and dumplings 1001

But for the big question… how did they turn out? Well, for my first stab at it, I would say pretty good. I have the flavor down. The sauce and chicken tasted delicious. 
One of my problems was the sauce was a bit too runny, maybe next time I will let it cook longer or thicken it up with something, flour? I don’t know, something.
The biggest problem was I could not find butter-me-nots biscuits and as strange as it may seem this is the key ingredient to making this chicken and dumpling pot..OUT OF THIS WORLD.. 
My dumplings were good, but not good enough yet…

I will just have to try again one day soon!

Leave a Reply

