There are More Fish (AKA Agents) in the Sea

Standard

Aquarium outing 2012 part1 056

 

Only a few days ago I finished my final draft of editing and began the daunting progress of reaching out and searching for an agent.

That is what we aspiring writers do.

We read.

We write.

We query.

And apparently, we get rejected.

I know, I know! I am not alone in this land of agent rejection. But it is hard not to take it personal, when you are putting your soul on the line and someone is telling you, you aren’t good enough.

Granted, I am an unpublished writer and I am aiming high right now and reaching for agents that I probably shouldn’t. But dream big, right!

The only downfall to that is the stabbing pain in the back and the sickness in the pit of your stomach when the big “No” comes in.

I have queried 3 agents in the past 3 days and received 2 rejections.

The first one went like this…

“Thanks for thinking of me, Shelly, but I didn’t connect with the characters the way I’d need to in order to consider representation and so, unfortunately, I’ve decided to pass.  I wish you the best of luck elsewhere.”

And the second one this…

“Thank you for considering ***  as a potential agency to represent your work. We have reviewed the material you sent and we regret that we will not be offering to review your work further at this time. Please know that we are very selective with the materials that we request. We encourage you to keep writing and we wish you every success. Please forgive this impersonal note. We receive a tremendous number of queries and are forced to focus our attention on a limited number of projects.”

Am I reaching too high? Trying to land a big dog agent, when I am a little fish?

I can see I am going to have to toughen up my skin and keep on, keeping on.

Reminding myself, that there are plenty of other agents out there and one will,  I mean hopefully will sign me!

6 responses »

  1. I am amused that they referred to the one as “impersonal.” Both of those were more personal than any of the rejections I ever received. Which were much fewer than the number of non-responses I received to my queries.

    As long as you’re asking yourself, “Should I keep doing this?” keep doing it. Don’t stop until you either get there, or you wake up one day and realize “Nope, I should not keep doing this.” And don’t rule out self-publication as a viable option, especially if you have a good editor who can tell you if your work truly is publication-worthy.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks, I am going to keep on! I have a long list of “top” agents I am going to reach out to and then the secondary ones.

      I haven’t ruled out self-publication either. I love the era that we live and write in now, where you can take your product straight to market. Granted a much smaller market than if a big publishing house signed you, but the options we have today are wonderful.

      Good luck to you too!

  2. Sometimes it’s not the novel that’s getting the rejections, it’s the query. If you don’t get any requests after sending between 10 and 12 (that’s arbitrary,depending on whom you ask) try rewriting the query. Then send it out again. And again…

    More luck to you!

    • Thank you! That is good advice, I actually revised it after the 1st rejection. I have a tendency to over analyze. 

  3. I am in the process of looking for an agent as well. I heard that some published authors have been rejected 50 times. I have to keep that in mind when I receive my first rejection letter, too, because we all will get them. We just have to keep writing and keep trying. Good luck to you!

    • That is so true and I have to remember that as well! Best of luck to you! Breaking into this industry is hard but there are so many options available at this time it can most definitely happen!! We will get our agents… eventually!

Leave a Reply

