What’s Next?

Standard

It has been a little over a week since I finished the revisions on my Novel THE OYSTER KING.

It is time for a new story to begin. But where? Don’t get me wrong I have a ton of ideas swirling around in my head, I just can’t figure out which ones are strong enough, deep enough, to become my next project.

How do you guys do it?

With this one, the inspiration just came. I got the guts of the story and then wrote an outline and fleshed it out.

I keep second guessing myself on this next one. I think the problem is I am thinking, “I have to write a novel,” instead of “I have to write”.

I have an idea for a sequel to the one I just finished and I have the 35K word partial story I wrote during NaNoWriMo last year. And while I do want to finish it, I have other ideas that are churning in my head and I feel like I need to get them out and explore them before I commit to something.

The problem is all the ideas, instead of getting me writing, are bogging down my brain and nothing is coming out.

I won’t use the term “writer’s block” because, frankly, I don’t believe in that term. We can always write something if we sit down and write. But I have not sat down to write… and that is the problem.

Part of me is thinking, hey it is a miracle you finished a book at all do you really think you could do it again.  Another part of me is thinking, the one you just wrote is a piece of crap, why do it again.

But the true writer in me knows I have NO CHOICE, I HAVE to write.

I just need to sit down at my computer and do just that!

I really would like to hear how you guys do it, though!

2 responses »

  1. I think the old saying about the elephant holds true here. “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.” It’s the same with a novel. If you think about the daunting task of writing an entire novel, it can make you want to run and hide…but writing one page of a novel is a lot less daunting!

Leave a Reply

