Quoting the Crazy

Standard

 

“Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again but expecting different results.”

While the true originator of this phrase is unknown, many people attribute it to Albert Einstein.

Or take the quote we use in Weight Watchers meeting.

“If you always do what you’ve always done, then you’ll always get what you always got.”

I have no idea who actually said it first and after a google search it looks like neither does anyone else!

The point is, as writers, we have to keep on doing what we have always done. Sitting down and writing. We need to make improvements. We need to hone our craft. But we have to “keep on keeping on”. Okay, I tossed that one in. But it wasn’t a quote; it was a song by Curtis Mayfield. Man, my daddy loved his R&B.. I digress…

It really continues to point in the direction that I have been leaning towards for a long time. Writers have to be a little (insert A LOT) crazy!  — See: Is There a Padded Cell in my Future?

I am querying agents – a.k.a. “Doing the same thing over and over again but expecting different results.” – of course I am modifying and making changes as I go. Nevertheless, I know that in order to get published I have to keep going… Keep doing… Keep improving… Am I insane? Aren’t we all just a little?

This quote by Screenwriter Nora Ephron, makes me feel a little better, at least!

“Insane people are always sure that they are fine. It is only the sane people who are willing to admit they are crazy.”

Lucky for me I question my sanity at least once a day. Guess that means I’m not crazy after all!

What do you guys do regularly that makes you feel like you are walking the tightrope between sane an insanity?

And for your enjoyment Pleasure… Baby Girl, going CRAZY on her first encounter with the ocean!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

