My Name is Shelly and I am Addicted to the Scale

Standard

For those of you who have read a few of my recent blog posts, you know that I am in the midst of working on the P90X3 program. Wowser, it is tough but makes you feel strong and great when you finish.

Still, I have struggled with my weight for as long as I can remember. I am about 25lbs overweight now and it gets frustrating when I eat right, exercise and my scale number does not go down.

So yesterday I weighed and the number was up!! Needless to say I was in a bad mood all day.

My husband, who is tired of me allowing the scale to dictate how I feel, has hidden my scale.

This might not seem like a big deal. But I am someone who weighs myself about 5 times a day: In the morning when I wake up, after lunch, before dinner, after dinner, before bed. I even weigh myself in the middle of the night when I have to get up to use the bathroom.

I know this isn’t healthy, and yet I am drawn to see what the number says. If it is good, I can eat lunch. If it is bad I need to skip lunch. This is the mentality of a crazy person I know. I have never claimed to be the sanest person.

But now, for a week, I am forced to have no scale. How will I know how I am supposed to feel? How will I know if I can eat lunch or not?

There is a Walmart down the road; I guess I could “go shopping.”

Am I alone? Am I the only one who allows the scale to dictate how they feel?

7 responses »

  1. Shelly, it is normal to go up in weight if you are exercising, because your flab is becoming muscle. Instead of stepping on the scale, try trying on a pair of tight but “put-onnable” slacks. Much more rewarding. Weight Watchers encourages dieters to weigh once a week. Much more satisfying and less terrifying. Or, if you can’t resist, it is at least better than going to the fridge this many times a day. Congrats on having a plan. I lost tons of weight a few years ago, then gained much of it back and I’m on my way down again–20 lbs. since April. So, I know it is hard. Keep going, girl.

    • Oh yes, I do WW and about 10 years ago lost 65lbs. It was so easy back then, but I was 10 years younger… 🙂 — I gained some back when I got pregnant and I have had a hard time shaking these 25lbs this time around. Probably because I am in my 40s ouch! Good luck on your weight loss adventures too! And I am doing remarkably well without the scale this week!

  2. You should definitely NOT use the scale to justify eating. Your nutrition should be a rough plan that has nothing to do with the scale’s current reading, which is influenced by a ton of variables such as water retention. Why not use the P90X3 nutrition guide and follow it’s caloric guidelines instead? If you are skipping meals because of the scale, you aren’t going to fuel your body properly for your workouts, and thereby sabotage your long term success.

    • I need to do a follow up to this post because I have conquered this! That week when I could not weigh I learned so much about how the scale really was ruling my life. I have since only weighed on Sunday’s, so since this post I have only weighed twice. Both times my weight was down and not because I was watching the scale, but because I was focused in eating right and exercising. I was setting myself up for some severe sabotage.

  3. Hey Shelly. I read your last comment post and congrats on conquering this. Eating right and exercising is far more important than what the scale says, congrats on defeating that 🙂

    Are you still enjoying the P90X3?

    • Thanks Lindy! Yes I am truly enjoying the P90X3 – Truthfully I really enjoyed the first P90X as well, but it was just too hard to find an hour to hour and a half to fit in the exercise. My weigh in was today (Sunday) and I was up a lb. A few weeks ago this would have completely BROKE me. But, my clothes are fitting better and I lost 2inches in my waist this week. The scales are important to an extent but I now realize that feeling healthy, strong, and seeing the difference in my body is the MOST important of all.

Leave a Reply

