HELP! I need to write a Synopsis.

Standard

So, as I am moving forward on my query process of my book “The Oyster King” I have come to realize that I really need a synopsis. Many of the agents I am looking at right now require one with the query letter.

I have bypassed them previously, but I keep getting drawn back to a couple of agents I really want to target but they want the synopsis.

Can I just say I am at a loss!

I think this is harder than writing the entire book.

How do I put a 72,000 word story into a single page synopsis and make it sound interesting and exciting? I don’t want to get my story rejected because I can’t write a synopsis…..

I am a bit stressed.

I have a great book called, Give ‘Em What They Want, which I know is going to be helpful but right now it is just confusing. It is telling me my synopsis should read like a novel but leave out a lot of the story. What do I leave out? What do I keep? I have to decide what is most important. Uggh! It’s all important or it wouldn’t be in the book!

I am about to dig in and see what I can come up with. Wish me luck. And if you see smoke rising from the suburbs of Atlanta, just know it’s my brain exploding!

Image Courtesy of PhotoBucket

explosions photo:  explosion.jpg

7 responses »

  1. I’ve always had a hard time writing synopses even though I spent lots of time researching how to write one. Before I began querying, I enrolled in an online seminar in which an agent critiqued my submission packet. I was really stuck on a one page synopsis. I found this article (http://www.bethanderson-hotclue.com/workshops/writing-the-tight-synopsis/) and ended up writing the best synopsis I’ve ever written. The agent thought it was well done, but that I needed to stick to the same incidents I related in the query letter. That was easy to fix. Hope it helps. Good luck!

  2. I am the same, I am currently writing my first book and I had to write a synopsis for camp nanwrimo, it was terrible, not sure how I can improve it for when I want to get published. Good luck.

  3. Ugh! I just had to do this! It’s more difficult than even the dreaded pitch. (The pitch at least is allowed a bit of personality and you don’t have to give away the end.) I don’t know how well I pulled mine off, but I kind of used the plot points of an outline (replaced with full sentences, of course), left out big themes in favor of specific instances in the book and described the ending full-throttle. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

