And Yet I Always Knew

Standard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I reach the closing pages of the book

 I find myself wanting

 Needing more

In the verses before me told the life of a sister

 I never knew I had

I had chosen to finish these pages with the sand between my toes

 Because it was my sister’s wish

It was still almost impossible to imagine

 And yet somehow I always knew

I always felt something was missing

A part of me

It wasn’t until she passed away

And the journal found its way to me

That I felt whole

It sounds odd to feel whole after the death of someone

And yet

 That is what I am now

 I am whole

 In my hand I hold the life stories of my twin

And someday

 We will meet again

This is in response to The Daily Post Prompt: Edge of the Frame – We often capture strangers in photos we take in public. Open your photo library, and stop at the first picture that features a person you don’t know. Now tell the story of that person.

4 responses »

  1. Beautiful writing. I haven’t been to this blog before, but I like your style of reflection within this poem. Kudos.

Leave a Reply

