August 2014 IWSG

Standard

Wow, is it really August?

It seems like this summer is flying by.InsecureWritersSupportGroup

The first Wednesday of every month is IWSG (Insecure Writer’s Support Group), a time to vent, share our insecurities, and release our fears into the world.

For me, the month of July was all about getting back to blogging. I have been so sporadic over the last few months that I really wanted to refocus and I did just that.

But what happened in the meantime, was I quit querying agents on my finished book. I realized I needed a synopsis. But that is all I have done, realized it. I haven’t taken the time to work on writing it. Oh sure, I have read articles on how to write an amazing synopsis. But every timeΒ I try and start to work on it, something comes up (meaning I make up a reason to stop). For whatever reason, I am petrified of this darn synopsis…. And my new story I am writing, has sat dormant and may be growing cobwebs by now.

So for August, my goal is to continue the regular blogging and as much as it pains me. WRITE MY SYNOPSIS!!

How are the rest of my writer friends doing this month?

If you want to join the group click below:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

16 responses »

    • It’s a good idea, I could assign a certain part of the day for blogging and commenting and then have some focused, designated time for writing.

      I am just getting into a new schedule with my daughter in Pre-K so I need to use those morning hours more wisely!

  1. I have recently begun teaching my 16-year-old how to drive. She returns to school in a couple weeks and I’m looking forward to having more time to introvert and write. Back in 2006-2007 I had my first blog in which I wrote about my chaotic childhood. I was just really trying to write down everything I could remember, but now I am actually learning the art of memoir writing and trying to figure out what’s important to keep in the story and what isn’t In a couple weeks I will read my first few chapters of an inspirational novel at a local critique group full of previously published authors. I love that we can share and learn from one another.

    • That is awesome! I wish I could write a memoir, but my childhood was peachy and my life is mundane. Don’t get me wrong, I love it, it just wouldn’t make a page turner. πŸ™‚ Best of luck on your reading, I am sure you will do great!

    • Thanks Mikey! I think I feel like I finished one story and doing it again would be a miracle.. lol! I need to erase that mindset and like the Nike slogan… Just Do It!!

  2. I’m ahead on my writing goals this month, behind with everything else. Since the reverse is usually true, I’m happy with this.

    There is no more miserable task than writing a synopsis. You have my sympathy. *shudder*

    • That is great news. I haven’t found myself in that situation yet, lol! Working full time, taking care of home, husband and daughter leaves little room for writing. But I try and squeeze it in when I can.

      If I could get this synopsis past me, maybe my creativity would be flowing again. With that being said I am working on it today as I find the time.

  3. I’m actually doing something similar because I’m writing out a scene list for my still broken story. I’m a little obsessed with it!
    It’s so great to meet another writer who is seeking traditional publication like I am. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, a lot of people are skipping by the traditional route, but I still feel like it’s good to have someone cheerleading you. I think agents do that. Really push their writers! Good Luck!

  4. Synopsis’ (?) scare the mess out of me too! I’ve written one (thank you university) but the idea of writing one to submit to a publisher or agent seems much more frightening than sending one to a professor for a grade. BUT the good thing to remember is that people do this everyday and we ALL have to write one for the first time. I don’t know if that helps, but the IWSG is filled with people who are more than willing to help you get that synopsis to submission quality!

    Thanks for stopping by my IWSG post! Have a wonderful rest of the weekend πŸ™‚

    • Thanks. I actually wrote it the day after the IWSG post. Something about putting it out there made me decide to just do it!! But, still even next time I think it will scare the crap out of me!

Leave a Reply

