Incredibly Easy Taco Soup

Standard

There is something about the winter that makes me crave homemade soups. Maybe it is because by this time of the year I am over anything to do with ham or turkey.

So last night I decided to make taco soup. This is my version of the soup that I first learned about at a Weight Watchers meeting years ago.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

TACO SOUP

IMG_7206

INGREDIENTS:

1 pound Lean Ground Beef
Package Taco Seasoning
Package Ranch Dressing Mix
1 Can Great Northern Beans
1 Can Light Red Kidney Beans
1 Can Black Beans (rinsed)
2 Cans Diced Tomatoes (I like the ones with Basil, Garlic, & Oregano it gives it more flavor)
1 Can Corn – we use Gold and White but you could use any kind
1 Can water

Extras:

Shredded Cheese
Sour Cream
Tortilla Chips

IMG_7209

First step is to brown the ground beef. Put about 1/4 of the packet of ranch and taco seasoning in with the meat when you are browning, it gives the meat a much better taste. I will admit that when I use lean ground beef, I cook it down so that there isn’t anything to drain. (Probably not the best idea for weight watcher followers.)

IMG_7211

IMG_7214

After the ground beef has cooked, combine all your ingredients into a large pot – REMEBER ONLY DRAIN AND RINSE the black beans. Add all the other cans with the liquid plus a can of water and the remainder of the seasoning packets.

Bring to a boil

Let Simmer for about 30 minutes

IMG_7215

Enjoy! Top with Shredded Cheese and Sour Cream if you wish and then enjoy with Tortilla chips!

IMG_7221

Ignore my messy bowl…. 🙂

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Hearty Vegetable Beef Soup for a Group

  2. Pingback: What’s for Dinner Today? |

Leave a Reply

