Life Lessons from a Potato

Standard

DSC_1854

It’s funny, the strange places you find life lessons. Today as I was loading down the crock-pot with vegetables for my roast I got a little life lesson from, you guessed it, a potato.

I had washed up a few and had laid them out getting ready to cut them up and add them to the pot. I picked up the biggest prettiest one of all and after peeling it, I realized that all throughout the potato were these awful black spots. I had to cut them out and was left with only a small piece that was actually worth adding to the roast.

After the pretty one with all the black inside, I didn’t have much hope for the last small one with large rough dark areas on the outside. I had given up on the idea of having lots of potatoes in my roast. Yet, when I cut away the dark skin of this one there were no black spots at all underneath. It was a perfect little potato and was promptly cut up and added to the pot.

So what is the lesson? If you haven’t already guessed, it is the age old, don’t judge a book by its cover, lesson. Oftentimes the beautiful outside of a person is just a façade to the evil that lurks inside of them. I mean look at Ted Bundy, he was a good looking guy at the time and yet he was a serial killer.

But also, that homeless person who on the outside is covered in dirt and pain, likely has a heart of gold inside.

It is so wrong to look at someone and judge how you think they are. And yet we all do it. A little potato reminded me today to take a closer look before I decide. Find the heart of the person and that is where you will see the shiny good pieces or the dark and evil ones.

 

 

About Shelly Tennyson Taylor

Who am I? I am a first time mom to an amazingly smart 6yr old. I am wife to my best friend of 24 years. I am 40ish going on 29.. ;) I am a writer... I finished my first novel in 2013 and I am currently seeking publication. I work for "the man" but he pays me well to work from home so I can't complain. My blog is simply about life and all aspects of it. I hope you will join me on this journey! https://oldmomsunite.wordpress.com/

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

