Just Write!

Standard

 

It is hard to write.

Sounds strange right? But I am finding it hard to find the inspiration. Life is good and work is good. My family is good. There is none of the angst I felt when I was a teenager, those moments and times in your life where writing your heart out is the only way to get out the pain. Those moments don’t exist. There are none of the painful moments when my mother was struggling with and dying from cancer. Those were times when I needed to write. I HAD to write. Writing was the only thing that kept the sanity. It let me vent and feel and pour out my heart while still being strong and resilient for my mother.

So, why is it hard to write when life is good? Why do we only have to bare our soul when it’s sad and broken? Why can’t we share the good times, the daily grind? The honest answer is it’s just not as interesting.

A story (even our own) needs conflict and movement. Of course, if you are living a great life then you don’t want conflict. But, in order for your story, your life, to be interesting it unfortunately needs conflict.

I guess I am going to have to start writing about puppy dogs and rainbows. Just write!!

I watched that Steve Harvey video that is going around the internet, you know the one. JUMP!  If you haven’t seen it, after you leave here take a few minutes and watch it. It is awesome.

I know writing is my biggest passion and yet it gets pushed aside to arriving early to the carpool lines, fitbit tracking, Facebook, Pinterest, the final season of American Idol! I mean the list could go on forever of things I do, time that I waste, that I could be using my passion. What I consider my calling I have yet to answer.

To write!

Just write!

Starting is the hardest part. So check that one off the list for me.

About Shelly Tennyson Taylor

Who am I? I am a first time mom to an amazingly smart 6yr old. I am wife to my best friend of 24 years. I am 40ish going on 29.. ;) I am a writer... I finished my first novel in 2013 and I am currently seeking publication. I work for "the man" but he pays me well to work from home so I can't complain. My blog is simply about life and all aspects of it. I hope you will join me on this journey! https://oldmomsunite.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

