30th Anniversary of The Challenger Disaster

Standard

 

We were either traveling to or from Tampa 30 years ago today.

I can’t remember which. What I do remember is that I loved when we were traveling on shuttle days. From Highway 75 in FL you could see the little dot of the shuttle as it took off and arose into space.

This day was no exception, I was watching intently from the back of the old paneled station wagon and I saw the dot, only it wasn’t a dot it was more like smoke and it had stopped rising.

My heart dropped and even being only 15 years old, I knew what had happened.
A quick turn of the radio to any station confirmed what we knew, what we saw. The shuttle had exploded.

It was an incredibly sad day and impacting day in my young life.
I never looked at another shuttle launch the same again.

It is hard to believe it was 30 years ago.

http://www.history.com/topics/challenger-disaster

2 responses »

  1. I remember that day well also. I was in HS and was off sick for the day. Was listening to the radio when the broadcast was interrupted. I remember feeling so sad for the astronauts and their families. I especially remembered the Teacher and thought of how all her students were watching. It was just so tragic!

Leave a Reply

