Being a Good Mommy Isn’t Always Rainbows and Unicorns

Standard

 

So, last Thursday night, baby girl came down with the stomach virus. Seeing someone vomit makes daddy vomit, actually hearing someone make the vomiting sound could make daddy vomit, so mommy to the rescue.

*** Aren’t you impressed by how many times I can say vomit in one paragraph!

Truthfully, I didn’t mind at all. I mean, I hate she was sick but since she was, I wanted to be close to her and let her know how much I loved her, rubbing her back while she did her business and holding her close in her bed while she tried to get some sleep between bouts back and forth to the bathroom.

By the next morning she was all better. Fast forward 48 hours and guess who has the virus now. Yep, it was mommy. It was an awful, painful, exhausting night. But, I would do it again. I don’t want to do it again, but I would if that meant I was making baby girl feel better.

My husband said to me yesterday, when I was feeling better. “Now I bet you wish you hadn’t slept up there with her the other night.” Nope, that is not what I wish. What I wish is that I could have bypassed the virus. I would have slept up there with her again if it happened. I would do if she had the flu, strep throat, any kind of contagious disease at all. Mommy will ALWAYS be there by her side.

That is the price we pay as mommies. I would step in front a bus for her, I would do anything in my power to make her feel better always and forever.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am sure if for some reason I wasn’t able to, my husband would have stepped up to the plate, reluctantly, but he would have stepped up to the plate to take care of baby girl. But with mommy around, he didn’t have to.

Sometimes being a mommy or a daddy isn’t rainbows and unicorns, sometimes it’s rubbing a back that hunched over a toilet. No matter what it is the best job in the world and it pays in smiles, hugs, and kisses from my little angel. That is the best currency there is!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

